True, it has been way too long since I last blogged.  My life is changing (for the better), in both large and small ways, and I just haven’t taken the time to post.  But I’m back, because someone dear to me suggested I should blog some of my recipes, and this one is pretty tasty.

Produce often gets forgotten in our house, left to rot in a hanging basket or the bottom of the fridge.  I noticed  some aging bananas, so I decided to make use of them.  Here’s what I did, as adapted from the “I Hate to Cook Book”:

Banana Bread

6 very ripe bananas
1 stick margarine
1 stick unsalted butter
1 1/2 c. sugar
1 c. whole-wheat flour
1 1/2 c. bread flour
4 eggs, well beaten
1 tsp. orange extract
1 Tbsp. cardamom
3 tsp. baking powder
1 c. chopped walnuts

Preheat oven to 350°F.  Cream butter, margarine and sugar in a large bowl (I used an immersion blender).  Add bananas, mix, and add beaten eggs.  Add orange extract, cardamom, baking powder, and flour, and mix well (don’t over-beat).  Stir in walnuts.  Pour into greased Bundt pan.

Now here’s where it gets tricky — the original recipe called for baking in a loaf pan.  I felt there was too much batter, so I went with the Bundt pan.  It said bake for 35 min., but I forgot to set the timer, so I just kept checking back until the top was brown and the contents weren’t jiggly anymore.   If you come up with a more precise baking time, feel free to leave it in the comments.

Enjoy!

