Over the Christmas holidays, my paternal grandmother found me leafing through one of her cookbooks and told me I should take it home with me. First published in 1962, Helen Corbitt’s Potluck has been a rather entertaining read, believe it or not. Okay, so maybe I’m not dying to try “Veal Kidneys in Cognac”; but this is the cookbook where Grannie first found the recipe for Hershey Cake, which has become a staple with our family (she makes it every year for my mother’s birthday).

I’ve bookmarked a few recipes I want to try. Her recipe for French Dressing looked easy enough; but of course I can’t leave well enough alone and just follow a recipe, so here is my version:

Golden Salad Dressing

adapted from “French Dressing” recipe in Helen Corbitt’s Potluck by Helen Corbitt

2/3 c. olive oil
4 tablespoons lemon juice, vinegar, or a combination of the two
(I used 2 Tbsp. key lime juice and 2 Tbsp. rice vinegar)
1 teaspoon salt (or garlic salt)
1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper (finely ground)
1/2 teaspoon dry mustard
2 cloves of garlic, finely minced (I used a garlic press)
2 tablespoons dried chives
1/2 teaspoon anchovy paste

Pour all ingredients into a jar with a tightly-sealing lid; shake vigorously.

Delicious. We’ve been eating salads for two weeks now!