I have a few friends out there who are struggling right now; self-worth is at stake and they don’t know who they are or where they’re going.  Ecclesiastes would be a good book to start:

14 I have seen all the things that are done under the sun; all of them are meaningless, a chasing after the wind.

 15 What is twisted cannot be straightened;
       what is lacking cannot be counted.

 16 I thought to myself, “Look, I have grown and increased in wisdom more than anyone who has ruled over Jerusalem before me; I have experienced much of wisdom and knowledge.” 17 Then I applied myself to the understanding of wisdom, and also of madness and folly, but I learned that this, too, is a chasing after the wind.

 18 For with much wisdom comes much sorrow;
       the more knowledge, the more grief.

                                                                                    (from Chapter 1)

 

Of course I wouldn’t say stop questioning.  Just don’t let it overwhelm you.

I spent a good bit of time this weekend with several amazing friends.  One of them is a very smart and well-read guy who challenges my thinking every time we talk.  Perhaps later I will post excerpts and tangents from our conversations (with his permission), but for now, I am content to say that one of the greatest things that debate fosters is simply conversation, because conversation requires communication, and we as people need each other. 

Learn to love.  It’s the only way to really live.

In other news, I have a few tips for you party animals:  when playing Twister, don’t just pull out the board and start spinning.  Read the rules.  All of them.  You’d be surprised how much you don’t know, and how much more fun the game is!  If you’ve lost yours, you can find them here:  http://www.hasbro.com/common/instruct/Twister.PDF

Other miscellany that might interest readers:

* I have access to a few job openings in the real estate field down in Texas.  Interested parties can leave a comment here.

* A friend needs to sell her bed:  it was a brand-new double bed; she owned it for a few months, and now works in Argentina.  Price negotiable.  Bed is currently not being used, and lives in Brooklyn.

* Peanut butter can be added to tea.  And it tastes good.

* I left my chili-cheese Fritos in Texas.  Anybody want to send me some?

 

