This is a recipe that I love making that I found in the October 2004 issue of Everyday Food and have adapted to my tastes. It was originally scaled for one person, which is what lured me in (that and my decision to eat more fish, since it’s good for you). I usually make enough for two, though, so that’s how I’ll post it here:

2 6 oz. skinless tilapia filets
3 sliced tomatoes (medium-sized, not beefsteak)
2 tsp. olive oil
3-4 tbsp. capers
2 tbsp. wheat germ
2 tsp. grated lemon zest (optional)
2 tsp. lemon juice
8 tsp. mayonnaise
ground black pepper
course salt

1. Preheat oven to 450°. In a small ovenproof skillet or baking dish (I use a Pyrex pie plate), arrange tomatoes in overlapping circles. Scatter capers and lemon zest over the tomatoes. Season with salt and pepper; drizzle with olive oil.

2. In a small bowl, stir together mayonnaise and lemon juice (you can also add a few teaspoons of parmesan, if you like). Place fish on top of tomatoes in skillet. Season fish with salt and pepper. Spread mayonnaise mixture on top. Sprinkle with wheat germ.

3. Bake until fish is opaque throughout and topping is golden brown in spots, about 20 minutes.

The recipe says you can substitute snapper, grouper, or flounder (basically any firm white fish). The original recipe called for chopped olives, but I think capers are easier and tastier. I’ve also made this with sweetened lime juice instead of lemon, and I’ve replaced the mayo with plain yogurt and some fresh dill. Yummy yummy yummy, and of course, it’s easily doubled (which works well in a 9×13 glass casserole). I’ve served it with cheese grits casserole, or with just a simple salad. It really has become one of my staple recipes.

