Nearly a month has passed since my last entry, and that’s mainly because I’ve had a lot going on.  I thought about posting something poignant on September 11th, but I still can’t fix the hole in my heart and it’s five years later (take that, Ray Nagin!).  In all seriousness, I just didn’t know what to say.  So I didn’t. 

Would you like an excerpt from my life as an example?  How about this:  I’ll tell you about my Wednesday this week.  Wednesday is the middle of the week, so it makes sense that it would make for a good example of weekly life, right? 

Tuesdays are busy days for me (as they have been for as long as I’ve lived in New York), so Tuesday was a late night.  In light of that, and also because my gym is renovating the locker rooms (meaning I didn’t have shower access that day), I didn’t go to the gym that morning; instead, I got up a bit later and went straight to work.  That was the most relaxed part of my day.  When I got in to the office, we were in the middle of closing a very big deal, and I was starting my first day of Quickbooks training, which is to say I was preparing to become the bookkeeper for our entire corporation.  I won’t bore you with all the details (and I’ll also maintain the proper confidentiality); but know that at least three times that day all of our phone lines rang simultaneously; my boss had to take an unexpected 2-hour conference call; “the government” called; two of the callers used the words “extremely urgent”; and my boss (who is, I’m convinced, the best boss anyone could ever have) needed something from me every 20 minutes or so.  Yes, this is all in the midst of my training.  I was lucky to finish my coffee. 

I wrapped up everything in a timely fashion (thanks mostly due to my boss saying “leave that and that for tomorrow, finish whatever you must, and GO HOME ON TIME” — told you he’s fantastic!) and then realized that I’d forgotten my Hebrew book at home.  Knowing that I couldn’t shower at the gym, I decided to go straight there and shower at home where I could pick up my coursework.  Off I went to Crunch, where I surprised myself by jogging at 4.5 mph for an entire episode of Oprah.  That may not sound like much to you, but for someone who doesn’t run, EVER, well, I felt good about it.  I lifted a few weights and headed home.

On my way home, I went back and forth on the phone with my mother and grandmother trying to decide how I will be flying home for Thanksgiving and for a certain ceremony about which I hope to post more later.  Should I fly into where my sister lives and drive in with her or fly into where my mother lives and drive in with her or should I fly into where my mother lives and then fly out of where my sister lives or  . . . you get the idea.  I managed to end those phone calls, jump in the shower for three minutes (and I really mean three minutes) and then I got THE CALL:

“I got the job.”

If you’re privvy to my personal life, you know exactly who called and exactly why those four words have left me in a fog for the past 48 hours.

In a daze, I headed back into the city for Hebrew class, which I enjoyed, although it was not ony a new lesson but also a review of a good chunk of the material covered in the last semester.  To top off an already intense day, I went out to dinner after class (meaning after 9pm) with one of my classmates, and though for his privacy I won’t go into the details of our conversation, part of my half of the conversation somehow segued into me talking about my maternal grandfather (dearly dearly loved and who passed away less than three years ago), and the two of us ended the night in tears.  On the way home from dinner I had another brief conversation with the person whose phone call sent in the fog, and by the time I got home, I brushed my teefies, washed my face, crawled into bed and CRASHED.  I slept like a lump of lead.

As I was recapping my day for my boss yesterday, he said, “So it sounds like you had a whole week yesterday.”

Indeed.

ALL that to say, if posting is less frequent in the upcoming months, don’t be surprised.  Between increased responsibility and new projects at work, being the stage manager for the upcoming production of The Red Door Theatre Company (more about that later, too), a new semester of Hebrew, a relatively new gym membership, the resurgence of two different bible studies, the continuation of comedy night, a (tentatively but hopefully regularly scheduled) night-in with my Favourite Uncle, and a brand-new piano, well, you can see why I don’t feel the need for TV!

