Paraskevidekatriaphobia, the fear of Friday the 13th – does anyone actually suffer from this?

Fear is an interesting phenomenon. I’ve heard it said that if you can name your fear, you’re well on your way to conquering it. But in this hypochondriacal, over-medicated day and age, isn’t there a risk of creating more fear by coming up with more and more reasons to be afraid? (Check out MSN’s article today about fear: http://health.msn.com/centers/mentalhealth/articlepage.aspx?cp-documentid=100110668&GT1=8673I was amused.)

Michael Moore, in his film “Bowling for Columbine”, hypothosizes (ok, insists) that part of the problem in America is our fear. I don’t know that I want to be acknowledged as agreeing with Michael Moore, but he just might be onto something in that regard. I think we may be well on our way to becoming the next generation of worry-worts.

What do you think? Are Americans a bit too fearful?

Oh, and what scares you?

I’m afraid of Kevin Bacon. He gives me the heebie-jeebies. *shudder*

