Fall is my favourite season for a variety of reasons, one of which is Thanksgiving.  I love the idea of getting together with family and friends to be thankful for all with which we’ve been blessed in the past year.  This year will be especially exciting for me:  I’m travelling to Argentina to see a friend and vacation with her on the beaches of Villa Gesell.  Though I’ll miss my family and the traditional Thanksgiving dinner (and a chance to visit my beloved home state), I’m incredibly excited about travelling and having time off to relax and plan for the upcoming Christmas holidays, which promise to be a flurry of activity!  As the holiday season settles in and commercials kick their family- and couple-centered barrage of gift inspirations into high gear, it’s easy to feel twinges of loneliness as a single adult this time of year.  However, I like to stay positive, and I know that being single, though it doesn’t always feel (ok, rarely feels) like it, can very much be a blessing.  So with that in mind, here are a few reasons why I’m thankful I’m single this year.

 1)  This trip to Argentina!  Were I coupled, I might not be able to afford this trip, and I might not have the time.  Plus, in going alone, I can devote all my time to visiting with the friend I’m going to see.  (Incidentally, my friend and I had hoped that two dear mutual friends of ours might be able to join me in my trip down, but in light of their recent wedding, this trip was not financially prudent for them.)

2)  Not having to share the holiday!  In years past, I got a taste of what most married couples go through during most holidays — whose house with which relatives on which day?  Your parents’ house?  My parents’ place for lunch?  Brunch with your friends?  Bowling with your cousins?  Do I have to tag along, or can I go catch a movie instead?  I have none of that.  I have this entire Thanksgiving holiday all to myself, to do with as I please.

3)  I can live as I choose!  I can be as messy as I please.  Ok, I can only be so messy, since I regularly host people at my house once a week, but still.  If I don’t feel like picking up my socks off the bedroom floor until Monday night, it doesn’t matter.  If I want to have oysters and saltines for dinner, who cares?  I do live with housemates, but I do have quite a bit of privacy now that I have my own bedroom.  And don’t get me started on being able to keep the bedroom icicle-cold and sleep in the middle of the bed with all the pillows . . .

4) Financial Freedom!  I’m not shackled to anyone else’s credit card debt, and I don’t have to explain my spending habits or thrift to anyone.  If I want to send $70 worth of diapers to a friend, or buy a new pair of shoes (ok, two pairs), no one needs to know.  Likewise, I can rinse and re-use paper towels (have you SEEN how sturdy the new blue Bounty shop towels are?!), save coffee grounds to nurture Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego (my ivies), and hoard twist-ties without anyone whining that I’m miserly. 

5)  My body is mine, all mine!  1 Corinthians 7:3-5 states: “3 to the wife let the husband the due benevolence render, and in like manner also the wife to the husband; 4 the wife over her own body hath not authority, but the husband; and, in like manner also, the husband over his own body hath not authority, but the wife. 5 Defraud not one another, except by consent for a time, that ye may be free for fasting and prayer, and again may come together, that the Adversary may not tempt you because of your incontinence”  (Young’s Literal Translation).  I may not be sexually active right now, but I’m also not responsible for anyone else’s sexual satisfaction.  If I don’t feel like shaving my legs, I’m not gonna! 

 Now, if you’re reading this, Man of My Dreams, please know that I would love to take you with me to Argentina, and spend the holidays with your family and introducing you to mine; and I usually pick up my socks; I’m fairly financially responsible; and, well, let’s just say I’m perfectly willing to commit to my wifely duties (wink, wink).  But I get the feeling I haven’t met you yet, so until I do, I’m going to try my darnedest to be content without you.

 Happy Thanksgiving, everyone.  May you all find your blessings too numerous to count.

