I’m not sure how many people are still reading this blog, because it has been so sorely neglected as of late.  I’ve gotten to the point now where my head is full of all sorts of things I could blog about; but not having a home computer seriously impedes my ability.  I know, I know, I’ve used that excuse before.  I also haven’t felt all that guilty about not posting, since I’m fairly sure that anyone who actually knows me who also reads this blog has some other form of contact with me and a way to keep tabs on me (if I’m wrong about that, by all means leave me a correctionary comment). 

Perhaps you’re now wondering, “Ok, TexanNewYorker, what is it that has been keeping you too busy to blog?  Why not just stay late at the office one day or come in early or borrow a housemates’ computer?”  Ah, my friend, so very many things have occupied my time as of late.  Looking back over my recent blog entries, it seems things started tapering off ’round the end of March.  Truly, I’m at a bit of a loss trying to remember at this very moment just what excitement my life held in April and May, so I’ll just recap as of around June.  Let me catch you up on some of the more notable occurrences: 

I was incredibly proud of Kate and The Red Door Theatre Company for our production of Proof, which SOLD OUT for our final Monday performance.  And when I say sold out, I don’t mean we merely filled the seats.  I mean that we took what had previously been a 37-seat house, maxxed it out at 56 seats, double-sold one of those (that’s what happens when you’re late to the theatre!), and had to turn away a very disappointed wait-list, including our primary reviewer (such a shame he missed the show).  Next up:  The Witches at the Eighth Annual Halloween Harvest Festival at Socrates Sculpture Park.  More on that later.

 

 June felt overwhelmingly busy:  I was still working two jobs (and putting in overtime hours at both); I taught a few vocal coachings; Hebrew class was winding to a close, as was my weekly home group; I was still seeing at least a show a week with Uncle (I know, I know, I’m not complaining — just saying that sort of thing takes time!); and I even did a very small gig.  After what felt like a non-stop month, I was more than thrilled to head back to the Lone Star State for the Fourth of July with my friend Josh in tow.  It was a wonderfully fun and relaxing weekend; I only wish I’d had more time.  I didn’t even tell most of my friends I’d be home because I didn’t know how I’d make time to see everyone (so if I missed you, know that I’m sorry, and we’ll get together the next time I’m in town for a reasonable stretch).

The day after we got back, Josh played a really fun gigat Stain bar, and then two days later threw me a suprise birthday party.  I had NO IDEA anything was up, and it was a total blast.  I love surprises (and I’m terribly indecisive), so when Josh offered to take me out for my birthday and asked me where I wanted to go, I said “Surprise me.”  Little did I know he’d coordinate with Kate and actually, well, really surprise me!  Thanks to everyone who made it out that night. 

Note:  The picture is actually from Josh’s birthday party, not mine, but I like it better than the one I have from mine. 

 

 

After the birthday fun, in some ways things slowed down a tad, except for the fact that at the beginning of July I resumed working full time at my original job and have since spent the month running the office while my boss has been out of the country.  I’m feeling a little frazzled and wondering what happened to the time between my birthday and, oh, wow, would you look at that?  It’s actually August. 

All that leads me back to the title of this post, as there are no guarantees that my blogging will become more regular.  I’d like to hope so; but in light of my increased workload and the fact that fall will mean all sorts of things starting back up again, and since I still don’t have a computer, and since I’ve been spending a lot of time on the phone lately catching up with old friends, well . . . dear readers, don’t hold your breath.

But thanks for taking the time to read this one.  :o)

 

