Broadcasting live from NAPTIME at the Milton Thanksgiving gathering, hosted this year by Alyssa.  I’m here in Austin with my parents, my mom’s mom, my sister, two of her friends, and her boyfriend, and we just had a feast:  turkey breast, cornbread dressing, sweet potato casserole, green bean casserole, corn casserole, collard greens, lady cream peas, deviled eggs, sister shubert rolls, and two kinds of cranberry sauce, plus sweet iced tea.  Now everybody’s curled up on sofas and inchairs, half awake, watching Miracle on 34th Street (and yes, for those of you wondering, Maureen O’Hara plays the mother role in both Miracle on 34th Street and The Parent Trap).  It has been so nice to get away from it all and just relax, slow down.  I got to go out down town (6th Street, what?!) and hang out with my sister, spend some time with the family, cook dinner last night (peanut chicken, yumm), and of course, play  a round of Scattergories (Marcus, consider yourself initiated).

What a vacation.  Trips like this always give me that “Someone remind me why I left Texas…?” feeling.  🙂

